Monday, July 06, 2020, 03:08:00 PM

AL, BNP mayoral candidates cast votes

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2020-02-01 9:45:53 AM
AL, BNP mayoral candidates cast votes
AL, BNP mayoral candidates

DHAKA: The Awami League (AL) and BNP mayoral candidates have cast their votes at their respective polling centres on Saturday (Feb 01).

AL-backed mayoral candidate in Dhaka South City Corporation (DSCC) Barrister Sheikh Fazle Noor Taposh cast his vote at the polling centre of Dr Malika University College in city’s Dhanmondi-7 area in this morning.

AL mayoral candidate in the Dhaka North City Corporation (DNCC) Md Atiqul Islam exercised his franchise at Nawab Habibullah Model School and College in city’s Uttara area at 8 am.

Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) mayoral candidate in DSCC Ishraque Hossain and its mayoral candidate for DNCC polls Tabith Awal cast their respective votes in Shaheed Shahjahan Government Primary School at Gopibagh and Manarat Dhaka International School and College in Gulshan respectively at 8 am.

The elections to Dhaka North and South City Corporations began at 8:00 am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break.

People started to join the queues inside the polling stations to cast their votes for electing two mayors for the two cities.  

Besides, voters in Dhaka north will also elect 54 ward councillors and 18 reserved women councillors. In Dhaka south, 73 ward councillors and 23 reserved women councillors will be elected.

Four councillor candidates, including two in reserved seats, have already been elected uncontested in DSCC.

As many as 3,010,273 people will exercise their right of franchise at the DNCC, and 2,453,194 at the DSCC elections.

A total of 13 mayoral candidates are contesting in the two Dhaka north and south city corporations while around 7,500 candidates are contesting for councillor posts in the two city corporations.

There are 1,318 polling centers in DNCC while 1,150 in DSCC. 

The Election Commission (EC) completed all preparations. Earlier, election materials were sent to 2,468 polling centers.

Members of police and ansar have been deployed to ensure security at polling centers while Border Guard Bangladesh (BGB), Rapid Action Battalion (RAB), and river police will ensure security in the election areas.

BDST: 0945 HRS, FEB 01, 2020

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.