Thursday, April 25, 2019, 11:05:11 PM

242 BNP aspirants among 298 to contest polls for ‘Sheaf of Paddy’

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2018-12-09 10:43:58 PM
242 BNP aspirants among 298 to contest polls for ‘Sheaf of Paddy’
BNP's voting symbol 'Sheaf of Paddy'

DHAKA: BNP has allocated its ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ symbol to the aspirants in 298 constituencies including 58 candidates from its alliances.

Two aspirants of the alliances, however, have expressed reluctance to run with BNP’s symbol. 

BNP shared a total of 19 seats with Oikyafront.

Of them, Gono Forum was given 7 and Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal (JSD), Nagorik Oikya and Krishak Sramik Janata League 4 each.

Besides, partners from 20-party alliance were allocated 39 seats.

Of them, Jamaat-e-Islami gets 22, Liberal Democratic Party (LDP) 5, Bangladesh Khelafat Majlish 2, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam Bangladesh 3, Jatiya Party (Kazi Zafar) 2, Bangladesh Jatiya Party (BJP) 1, Kalyan Party 1, National People’s Party (NPP) 1, Labor Party 1, and Peoples Party of Bangladesh (PPB) 1.

Sources said, contestants from Oikyafront and BNP led 20-party alliance will run with ‘Paddy Sheaf’. But LDP chief Oli Ahmed will run with his party symbol ‘umbrella’ from Chattogram-14 and Hamidur Rahman Azad with independent symbol from Cox’s Bazar-2.

Voting of 11th parliamentary elections is scheduled to hold in total 300 constituencies on Dec 30.

BDST: 2243 HRS, DEC 9, 2018

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.