Wednesday, November 13, 2019, 12:22:31 PM

UN honours 12 Bangladeshi peacekeepers

News Desk |
Update: 2019-05-25 1:01:29 PM
UN honours 12 Bangladeshi peacekeepers

DHAKA:  The United Nations (UN) honored 12 peacekeepers from Bangladesh who lost their lives on duty in 2018.

The 'Dag Hammarskjold Medal' UN award was given to 119 fallen peacekeepers from 27 member states to honour their supreme sacrifice. 

The award was given on 'International Day of the UN Peacekeepers' at UN headquarters in New York on Friday (May 24).

The UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres handed the medals to   the respective Permanent Representatives of the 27 countries. 

The fallen peacekeepers of Bangladesh who posthumously received the medals are-- sainik Arzan Howlader, sainik Md Ripul Miah, sainik Mohammad Jamal Uddin, warrant officer Mohammad Abul Kalam Azad, sainik Mohammad Rayhan Ali, lance corporal Mohammad Akter Hossain, sainik Mohammad Rasheduzzaman, sainik Md Zane Alam, sainik Md Motiar Rahman, sainik Md Monjur Ali, lance corporal Md Mizanur Rahaman and lieutenant commander Md Ashraf Siddiqui.

Bangladesh's permanent representative and ambassador to the United Nations, Masud Bin Momen received the medals.

Defense Advisor of Bangladesh Permanent Mission Brigadier General Khan Firoz Ahmed was present at the event.

Bangladesh Permanent Mission to the United Nations has taken special measures to send these medals to the families of Bangladeshi peacekeepers.  

BDST: 1301 HRS, MAY 25, 2019


All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.