Saturday, June 06, 2020, 05:32:54 AM
Contempt of Court

Rule against Edu secy among 6

Update: 2014-06-08 5:30:00 AM
Rule against Edu secy among 6

DHAKA: The High Court has issued contempt of court rule against six government officials, including education secretary and vice chancellor of National University, for their inaction in executing its order.

An HC bench of Justice Reza-ul-Haque and Justice ABM Altaf Hossain passed the order on Sunday.

The court, moreover, summoned education ministry’s law officer Gautam Kumar asking him to appear before it on July 7.

Education secretary, vice chancellor of National University, its registrar and (collage) inspector, education ministry law officer Gautam Kumar and director general of secondary and higher secondary education directorate were made the respondents of the rule.

Lawyer Mohammad Shafiqur Rahman moved for the petition while deputy attorney general Bishwajit Roy stood for the state.

Earlier in 2008, in a circular the education ministry cancelled the re-registration of 38 private teachers’ training college out of 105.

Later, the court declared the circular unlawful.

Despite the court order, the ministry has yet to re-register the colleges. The victims later this year filed a writ.

The High Court passed the latest rule on Sunday due to the ministry’s negligence in executing the order.

BDST: 1520 HRS, JUN 08, 2014

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.