Saturday, July 04, 2020, 03:10:07 AM

Nine new HC judges take oath

Special Correspondent |
Update: 2019-10-21 12:03:41 PM
Nine new HC judges take oath

DHAKA: Nine newly appointed judges of the High Court took oath on Monday (Oct 21) this morning.

Chief Justice Syed Mahmud Hossain administered the oath at the Judges’ Lounge of the Supreme Court.

The nine are district and sessions judges Muhammad Mahbub-Ul-Islam, Shahed Nuruddin, SC Registrar General Md Zakir Hossain, Judge Md Akhtaruzzaman of Special Judge Court-5 of Dhaka, advocate Md Mahmud Hasan Talukder, advocate Kazi Ebadat Hossain, deputy attorney generals KM Zahid Sarwar, AKM Zahirul Haque, and Kazi Zinat Hoque.

On Sunday, President Md Abdul Hamid appointed them as HC additional judges for two years under article 98 of the constitution. 

The law ministry yesterday issued a gazette notification to this effect, saying that their appointment would be effective from the date of their taking oath.

BDST: 1151 HRS, OCT 21, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.