Thursday, 29 Jul, 2021


Australia win Women's T20 World Cup title 

22 |
Update: 2020-03-08 18:35:30
Australia win Women's T20 World Cup title 

Australia demolished India by 85 runs to win their fifth Women's T20 World Cup title in front of 86,174 at Melbourne Cricket Ground.

It was a near-perfect evening for the hosts, who posted 184-4 after a brutal 75 from Alyssa Healy and opener Beth Mooney's unbeaten 78.

An overawed India slid to 18-3, with teenage star Shafali Verma falling to the third ball of the chase, and they were never in the game.

Megan Schutt again shone, taking 4-18 as India were bundled out for just 99 with five balls left.

Australia's performance will be remembered as one of the most emphatic in a final by any side.

The crowd fell short of breaking the record attendance at a women's sporting event - which stands at 90,185 - but it was an astonishing, atmospheric evening.

Australia were as ruthless as they have ever been to steamroller India, whose heads dropped in the first over of the match when Healy was dropped by Verma.

It means Australia's dominance of women's cricket continues - and India, once again, fell short at a global final.

Source: BBC

BDST: 1835 HRS, MAR 08, 2020

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.