Dhaka, Tuesday, 06 August 2020


Bangabandhu BPL

Ctg Challengers send Sylhet Thunder to bat first 

22 |
Update: 2019-12-11 14:35:10
Ctg Challengers send Sylhet Thunder to bat first 

DHAKA: Chattogram Challengers won the toss and opted to field first against Sylhet Thunder in the opening match of the Bangabandhu Bangladesh Premier League (BBPL) at Shere Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on Wednesday (Dec 11).

The match kicks off at 1.30pm.

The seventh edition of the competition will get underway with a fiery encounter between these two spectacular teams as both of them will be looking for a win to start their season on a positive note.

The new edition of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) is rebranded as Bangabandhu BPL marking the 100th birth anniversary of Father of the Nation Sheikh Mujibur Rahman.

On December 8, Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the special edition of the T20 cricket event of the country in a grand opening ceremony.

The second match between Cumilla Warriors and Rangpur Rangers will start at 6:30pm today.

A total of seven teams -- Dhaka Platoon, Chattogram Challengers, Cumilla Warriors, Khulna Tigers, Rangpur Rangers, Rajshahi Royals and Sylhet Thunder -- will fight for the title.

A total of 46 matches will be held in this T20 event. The first 42 matches are in league-phase while the next four matches in the playoff round. The best four teams of the league phase will fight in one Eliminator and two Qualifiers. Winners of the Qualifiers will meet in the final at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium on January 17, 2020.

BDST: 1330 HRS, DEC 11, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.