Friday, 01 Mar, 2024


Jhalakathi-1: Shahjahan's nomination declared valid, Harun's invalid

News Desk |
Update: 2023-12-03 21:21:08
Jhalakathi-1: Shahjahan's nomination declared valid, Harun's invalid

The District Returning Officer of Jhalakathi canceled the nomination papers of seven people including MP Bazlul Haque Haroon.

District Commissioner also the District Returning Officer Farah Gul Nijhum canceled the nomination papers today (December 3).

At the same time, the nomination form of Awami League candidate and former BNP vice-chairman Major (Retd) Shahjahan Omar from Jhalakathi-1 constituency (Rajapur-Kathalia) for the coming 12th national election was declared valid.

Though Harun submitted his nomination as an Awami League aspirant, he was dropped as the party did not give him nomination at the last time.

Returning officer's office sources said the nomination forms of six, out of 11, from Jhalakathi-1 seat and one, out of four, seats from Jhalakathi-2 (Sadar-Nalchity) were cancelled.

BDST: 2121 HRS, DEC 03, 2023

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.