Thursday, 26 May, 2022


Dhaka among 12 districts at high risk of COVID-19

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2022-01-19 16:18:02
Dhaka among 12 districts at high risk of COVID-19

Health authorities on Wednesday (Jan 19) marked 12 districts, including Dhaka, as 'red zones' in high-level risk category amid the surge of Covid-19 infection rate and death in the country.

The 12 districts are Dhaka, Chattogram, Rajshahi, Jashore, Kushtia, Bogura, Gazipur, Dinajpur, Lalmonirhat, Panchagarh, Rangamati, and Khagrachhari.

The average infection rate in these districts is 10%. Besides, the infection rate in the capital is 28.11% while that in Rangamati is 10.71%.

Besides, 32 districts have been designated as ‘yellow zones’ (at mid-level risk) and 16 as 'green zones', officials said. 

The districts are Sylhet, Feni, Narayanganj, Noakhali, Cox’s Bazar, Moulvibazar, Faridpur, Munshiganj, Laxmipur, Shariatpur, Mymensingh, Khulna, Barishal, Manikganj, Sirajganj, Gopalganj, Rangpur, Jamalpur, Naogaon, Jhenaidah, Natore, Satkhira, Pirojpur, Bagerhat, Magura, Narail, Patuakhali, Kurigram, Joypurhat, Sherpur, Jhalakathi and Thakurgaon.

Meanwhile, the districts in the 'green zone' are Brahmanbaria, Habiganj, Narsingdi, Kishoreganj, Sunamganj, Tangail, Madaripur, Rajbari, Bhola, Netrakona, Gaibandha, Chapainawabganj, Barguna, Chuadanga, Nilphamari and Meherpur districts. The infection rate in these districts is below 5%.

The decision was taken following a week-long survey of the Covid situation in Bangladesh.

The Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) has, in fact, divided the districts of the country into red, yellow and green zones, considering the infection rate of Covid.

BDST: 1617 HRS, JAN 19, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.