Friday, July 03, 2020, 08:12:52 PM

Fakhrul among 8 BNP leaders get bail

Special Correspondent |
Update: 2019-09-02 2:54:58 PM
Fakhrul among 8 BNP leaders get bail

DHAKA: A Dhaka court has granted bail to eight BNP leaders, including its secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, in a case filed with Hatirjheel police station. 

They secured the bail from the court of Dhaka Metropolitan Magistrate Sarafuzzaman Ansari in separate hearings on Monday (September 2) upon Tk 5,000 bond each.

Earlier in the day, the BNP leaders, including Mirza Fakhrul, surrendered before the court and filed bail petitions in a case filed with Hatirjheel police station. 

The other surrendered accused are- BNP standing committee members Barrister Moudud Ahmed, Amir Khasru Mahmud Chowdhury, Mirza Abbas, Gaieshwar Chandra Roy, Dr Abdul Moyeen Khan, Nazrul Islam Khan and Organizing Secretary Advocate Ruhul Kuddus Talukdar Dulu.

According to the case statement, the High Court granted them bail till submission of the charge sheet in the case. Later, the state appealed against the HC order. Then, the Appellate Division ordered them to surrender in a trial court within two weeks. 

Under that order, the accused surrendered to the court on Monday and sought bail.
Police named the eight BNP senior leaders and 47 others in a case lodged at Hatirjheel police station on October 1, 2018. The law-enforcers had accused them of obstructing police duty and committing acts of sabotage.

BDST: 1250 HRS, SEP 2, 2019


All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.