Saturday, December 07, 2019, 04:41:04 PM

MPs of 11th parliament take oath

Senior Correspondent |
Update: 2019-01-03 12:30:26 PM
MPs of 11th parliament take oath
Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administers the swearing-in of the MPs (Photo: PID)

DHAKA: The newly elected members of parliament (MPs) along with Awami League president Sheikh Hasina have taken oath on Thursday (Jan 3).  

Speaker Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury administered the swearing-in of the MPs at the Oath room in East block of Jatiya Sangsad Bhaban after 11am.

Awami League led Moha Jote (Grand Alliance) is set to form the government for third straight time through confirming landslide win in the 11th parliamentary elections.  

The election was held at 299 constituencies out of 300 on Dec 30. 

A gazette notification was published on Jan 1 announcing results of 298 seats.

Moha Jote won 288 seats with Awami League’s 257.

Oposition alliance Jatiya Oikyafront with BNP won 7 seats. But, none of their MPs-elect joined the oath-taking ceremony on Thursday.

As the newly elected lawmakers swear in, Sheikh Hasina will assume the office of Prime Minister for fourth time and as the chief of Awami League.

BDST: 1229 HRS, JAN 3, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.