Monday, 25 Oct, 2021

Tech

 Jupiter-Saturn 'Great Conjunction' tonight 

Technology Desk | banglanews24.com
Update: 2020-12-21 15:38:41
 Jupiter-Saturn 'Great Conjunction' tonight  [photo collected]

The 'Great Conjunction' of Jupiter and Saturn will take place today. 

The Jupiter and Saturn pass each other nearly once every 20 years but today's celestial extravaganza is truly extraordinary. 

The NASA (National Aeronautics and Space Administration) says, "It's been nearly 400 years since the planets passed this close to each other in the sky, and nearly 800 years since the alignment of Saturn and Jupiter occurred at night, as it will for 2020, allowing nearly everyone around the world to witness this 'Great conjunction'". 

You can watch it from your terrace or balcony without any special equipment and if you have a camera you can capture the dance of the two planetary giants. You can also click the 'Great Conjunction' with your phone camera.

Planetary Astronomer and observer of Jupiter and Saturn, Dr. James O'Donoghue tweeted the "moment Jupiter and Saturn are closest in the sky on 21 Dec 2020"

Bangladesh: 23:43, Los Angeles: 09:43, New York: 12:43, Rio de Janeiro: 14:43, London/UTC: 17:43, Paris/CET: 18:43, Istanbul: 20:43, Dubai: 21:43, New Delhi: 23:13, Tokyo: 02:43 (22 Dec), Sydney: 04:43 (22 Dec) (+/- minutes)

According to the NASA, Saturn and Jupiter are "easy to see without special equipment".
 
Here are some tips from NASA:

The two planets will be visible in the early evening and you will get a window of one to two hours.

Take a tripod to hold your camera or phone steady.

If you don't have a tripod, support the camera against your car, a fence or a wall for a longer exposure.

The Jupiter and Saturn will come closest, that is, be separated by just 0.1 degrees or about one-fifth the apparent width of the Moon.

Source: NDTV

BDST: 1538 HRS, DEC 21, 2020
AP/SMS

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.