Thursday, 04 Mar, 2021


West Indies win toss, send Bangladesh to bat first

Sports Desk |
Update: 2021-01-25 11:45:06
West Indies win toss, send Bangladesh to bat first

West Indies won the toss and elected to field first in the final ODI of the three-match series against Bangladesh at Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Dhaka on Monday morning.

Tigers took the pride of sweeping the series at clean margin against West Indies for the first and so far the only time in 2009 when first choices Caribbean players skipped the series due to the financial spat with the board.

Thereafter they thrice won the series against West Indies but were unable to whitewash them. This time the Caribbean side also came with a second-string team after their 12 top players pulled out of the tour due to Covid-19 fears.

Bangladesh so far won the first two matches with ease-beating the visitors by a six-wicket and seven-wicket margin at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Dhaka to take an unassailable 2-0 lead. Bangladesh took the number of series victory against West Indies to five by clinching the ongoing series.

The two sides had already played 40 ODIs, among which Bangladesh won 17 in contrast of Caribbean’s 21 and two matches fetched no result. The victory in the second ODI was Bangladesh’s seventh in a row against the Caribbean.

Bangladesh Squad: Liton Das, Tamim Iqbal (capt), Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman

West Indies Squad: Sunil Ambris, Kjorn Ottley, Jahmar Hamilton (wk), Jason Mohammed (capt), Kyle Mayers, Nkrumah Bonner, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Keon Harding, Alzarri Joseph, Akeal Hosein

BDST: 1144 HRS, JAN 25, 2021

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.