Sunday, 21 Apr, 2024


Bang v Pak 1st ODI

Tamin, Mushfiqur record sets 330 target

Sports Desk |
Update: 2015-04-17 08:53:00
Tamin, Mushfiqur record sets 330 target

DHAKA: Tamim Iqbal and Mushfiqur Rahim hit centuries, propelling Bangladesh to set the team’s record highest target of 330 runs in the first One Day International (ODI) match against Pakistan in city Friday.

Bangladesh scored 329 for six in 50 overs at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in the city’s Mirpur. This is the highest total in the Tigers’ ODI history. Tamim scored 132 while Mushfiqur contributed 106.

Tamim began the Tigers’ innings with Soumya Sarkar on the other end of the crease while Junaid Khan bowled the innings’ first over.
Tamim hit his career’s fifth ton in ODI, scoring 132 runs off 135 balls. He built his innings with 15 fours and three sixes with a strike rate of 97.77.

Wicketkeeper-cum-batsman Mushfiqur scored 106 runs not out of 77 balls. It is his third century of his ODI career. He built his innings with hitting 13 boundaries and two over boundaries with an astonishing strike rate – 131.66.

Together, Tamim and Mushfiqur also built a record 178-run partnership. They also set another record of double century in Tigers’ ODI history for the first time.

Opener Soumya (20 off 36) did not stay long after he had become victim of run out by Wahab Riaz when Tigers scored 48 in 3.2 overs.

Shakib Al Hasan contributed 31 off 27 – the third highest in the innings.

Sabbir Rahman added 15 off 7 while Mahmudullah and Nasir Hossain added just 5 and 3 runs respectively.

Pakistan used seven blowers against Bangladesh. Only Wahab Riaz and Rahat Ali were successful, taking four and one wickets respectively.

Pakistan blowers showed little courtesy, contributing 17 runs to the Tigers’ scoreboard as extra.

Earlier, stand-in captain Shakib-Al-Hasan won the toss and decided to bat first. The match kicked off at 2:30pm.

Regular captain Mashrafe Mortaza is not playing the match as he was banned by International Cricket Council (ICC) for one match due to slow over rate in the World Cup 2015 quarterfinal match against India on March 19.

However, Mashrafe will lead Bangladesh in the rest of the two ODI matches and the lone Twenty20 match. Mushfiqur Rahim will captain the team in the test series.


Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Mahmudullah, Mushfiqur Rahim†, Shakib Al Hasan*, Sabbir Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Abul Hasan, Arafat Sunny, Taskin Ahmed, Rubel Hossain

Mohammad Hafeez, Azhar Ali*, Haris Sohail, Saad Nasim, Mohammad Rizwan, Fawad Alam, Sarfraz Ahmed†, Wahab Riaz, Junaid Khan, Saeed Ajmal, Rahat Ali

** Bangladesh 158 for 2 (32 ov)
** Bangladesh facing Pakistan bowlers

BDST: 1850 HRS, APR 17, 2015

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.