Thursday, 30 Nov, 2023


Which Country Wins ICC World Cup 2023?

Saleque Sufi |
Update: 2023-09-26 09:02:09
Which Country Wins ICC World Cup 2023?

Nine days from now on 5 October 2023, the 13th Cricket World Cup starts at Narendra Modi Cricket Stadium. Ahmedabad, India. Reigning Champions England takes on reigning Runners Up New Zealand. Ten countries including one ICC associate member country Netherlands will play against one another before four top countries graduate to the semifinal. 

Starting in 1975 in the mother country England as Prudential World Cup, this is going to be the 13th World Cup. Australia has won it 5 times, three in a row. West Indies and India won twice each. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England won once.  Having a well-balanced team and all players in fine form host India appears to be hot favorite. Reigning Champions England also possess a very strong team to throw strong challenges. Other favorites for the semifinals are South Africa, Pakistan, and New Zealand. Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and even Afghanistan may spring few surprises. For the first time this time once, the formidable West Indies has failed to qualify. Also are not there are Zimbabwe and Ireland. Instead, associate member country Netherlands surprising all qualified alongside Sri Lanka. 

Cricket in modern days is among the top three modern team teams along with Soccer and tennis. These days instant cricket T20 franchise played with white ball and in colored uniform has made the game global for wide media coverage. Test cricket still retains aristocratic fervor. 50 overs a side ODI which is in between Test and T20 is still the most prestigious format admired and adored by the cricket lovers. The first three World Cups played in England were of 60 Overs and played in whites. West Indies dominated the first two versions as they had a wonderful combination of fast furious bowling unit and a band of flamboyant group of aggressive batsmen. They were on course of winning the third when Kapil Dev led smart Indian team caused a major upset beating West Indies in a low scoring final at Lords. That West Indies shocked West Indies and since then West Indies could never even reach the final. In 2023 West Indies even failed to qualify. Australia like Brazil in Soccer has won the championship five times against five different opposition in five continents. India has won it twice. Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and England have won the championship once. For too many T20 franchise cricket played all over cricket playing countries it is very difficult finding appropriate time and slots. Hopefully weather permits the matches played for entire duration in Indian cities. Some matches may still need to be decided on Duckworth & Lewis methods. 

World Cup in Brief 







West Indies VS Australia

West Indies won by 17 runs



West Indies VS England

West Indies won by 92 Runs



West Indies VS India

India won by 43 runs



Australia Vs England

Australia won by 7 runs


Australia, New Zealand

Pakistan VS England

Pakistan won by 22 runs


Pakistan, India, Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka VS Australia

Sri Lanka won by 7 wickets



Australia VS Pakistan

Australia won by 8 Wickets


South Africa

Australia VS India

Australia won by 125 runs


West Indies

Australia VS Sri Lanka

Australia won by 53 runs


India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh

India VS Sri Lanka

India won by 6 wickets


Australia, New Zealand

Australia VS New Zealand

Australia won by 7 wickets



England VS New Zealand

England won in Super Over





Why India Is Considered Hot Favorite? India ranks on top at this moment in all three formats. They are the host country and by far the most organized and balanced unit. They are the hot favorites for winning it the third time. It is not necessary though that the best team of the tournament always win. The perfect example is West Indies in 1983 and Pakistan in 1999. But this time India possess so many horses for the courses that they will now face extremely sweet dilemma whom to play and whom not in the playing eleven. Shubman Gill as a young dynamic opener is in sublime form. He will have prolific Indian opener Rohit Sharma, the only batsman scoring three double centuries in ODI as his partner. Virat Kohli comes next. In modern day cricket Kohli is regarded as the main contender who may reach anyway close to all time great Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar in milestone setting. On his day Kohli can torment any bowling attack. India has KL Rahul, Sreyas Iyer, and Ishan Kishan to choose from at number four. What a galaxy of talent. Perhaps KL Rahul will be preferred. One of the top all-rounders of present-day cricket Hardik Pandya comes next with blaster Suryakumar Yadav following him. India has a terrific all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja appearing at lower middle order. Then India will again be bothered in choosing from a host of highly talented bowling unit. They have X-Factors Kuldeep Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, steady Mohammad Sami, and talented Mohammad Siraj. If they chose Shardul Thakur and Ravichandra Ashwin, we will not be surprised. For competing such a highly talented and skilled unit an opponent will need either Shaheen Shah Afridi and Haris Rauf in full flow or Ben Stokes playing a blistering all conquering innings. In normal business as usual India looks all set for reaching the final and winning it third time. But funny things do happen in cricket. Nothing can be guaranteed in Love & Cricket.

BDST: 0901 HRS, SEP 26, 2023

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.