Sunday, 25 Feb, 2024


Liton to lead Bangladesh in ODI series against India

Sports Desk |
Update: 2022-12-02 19:15:10
Liton to lead Bangladesh in ODI series against India

Opener Liton Das will lead Bangladesh in the upcoming three-match ODI series against India after the regular captain Tamim Iqbal was ruled out of the series due to groin injury.
"Liton is one of the more experienced players in the side and has demonstrated his leadership qualities," BCB Cricket Operations Chairman Jalal Younus said today (December 2).
"He has a sharp cricketing mind and reads the game very well. It is most unfortunate to lose Tamim to injury for this very important series, especially because under his captaincy the team has played some outstanding cricket in the last couple of years and he has been our most prolific batter in this format. He will be missed but we also feel that Liton has the attributes to do a good job as captain."
Liton has so far made 1835 runs in 57 ODIs for Bangladesh since making his debut in 2015 against the same opponents. He also holds the highest individual ODI score by a Bangladeshi batter when he hit 176 against Zimbabwe.
The first two ODIs will take place at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, Dhaka on December 4 and 7 while the third and final match is slated at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram on December 10.
Bangladesh ODI Squad: Liton Das (captain), Anamul Haque, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Yasir Ali Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Mustafizur Rahman, Shoriful Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Ebadot Hossain Chowdhury, Nasum Ahmed, Mahmudullah, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Nurul Hasan Sohan.

BDST: 1915 HRS, DEC 02, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.