Sunday, 26 May, 2024


Newly-elected MPs to take oath tomorrow

News Desk |
Update: 2024-01-09 13:19:26
Newly-elected MPs to take oath tomorrow

The newly elected members of the 12th Parliament will be sworn in tomorrow (January 10).

The Parliament Secretariat is making preparations for the oath-taking ceremony, sources said.

Speaker Dr. Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury will administer the oath of the new members of Parliament. She will take oath as a new member of parliament before administering the oath of MPs.

Awami League (AL)--backed candidates won 222 seats in Sunday's general election, while independent candidates won 62 seats.

Jatiya Party candidates won in 11 seats while three single candidates each from three parties -- Bangladesh Workers’ Party, Jatiya Samajtantrik Dal-Jasod and Bangladesh Kalyan Party -- won in their respective constituencies.

BDST: 1319 HRS, JAN 09, 2024

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.