Sunday, 26 May, 2024


Industries minister wins 5th time in Narsingdi-4

News Desk |
Update: 2024-01-08 19:37:38
Industries minister wins 5th time in Narsingdi-4

Industries Minister Advocate Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun has been elected Member of Parliament (MP) for the fifth time in Narsingdi-4 (Monohardi-Belabo) constituency in the 12th national election on Sunday.

He was elected as MP in the 4th national election in 1986 for the first time, then in the 9th national polls in 2008, the 10th national election in 2014 and in the 11th parliamentary election in 2019 as a candidate of the Awami League.

On Sunday, he won by bagging 7,0297 more votes than his rival candidate Saiful Islam Khan Biru who contested the election with the eagle symbol, Narsingdi Deputy Commissioner and Returning Officer Badiul Alam confirmed.

Polling was held in 158 centres – 96 in Monohardi upazila and 62 in Belabo upazila – from 8am to 4pm on Sunday.

Among these, voting was cancelled due to irregularities in Ibrahimpur Government Primary School of Sallabad union of Belabo upazila. The returning officer announced the results of 157 centres at night.

Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun polled 77,982 votes while his nearest competitor Saiful Islam Khan Biru secured 70,685 votes. With the plough symbol, Jatiya Party’s Kamal Uddin bagged 952 votes. Bangladesh Sanskritic Muktijot candidate Emdadul Haque Bhulan got 184 votes with the stick symbol.

Supporters of the boat symbol said that Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun’s contribution to social and economic development in the constituency has been rewarded by the voters in the election. The voters of the area are very happy to see him as the winner with a huge margin of votes.

Nurul Majid Mahmud Humayun said, “I express my gratitude to the people of Monohardi and Belabo for electing me as a lawmaker for the fifth time. My politics is for development, unity and peace. This victory is your collective victory. This victory is the victory of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina.”

Numul Majid has served as a member of the Standing Committee on Defence Ministry, the chairman of the Standing Committee on Expatriates’ Welfare and Overseas Employment Ministry, the chairman of the Standing Committee on Ministry of Commerce and also a member of the Standing Committee on Public Institutions.

BDST: 1937 HRS, JAN 08, 2024

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.