Tuesday, 26 Sep, 2023


Voting underway in Chattogram-8 by-polls

News Desk | banglanews24.com
Update: 2023-04-27 11:10:45
Voting underway in Chattogram-8 by-polls

Voting in the election to Chattogram-8 (Chandgaon-Boalkhali) by-election began on Thursday (April 27) morning with over five lakh people expected to exercise their franchise.

The voting started at 8am and will continue till 4pm.

The total number of voters in this constituency is Tk 517,652. Among them, 263,543 are male voter while 254,109 are female. The polling is being held at 190 centres.

Of the five contestants, ruling Awami League nominated candidate Noman Al Mahmud will fight with ‘Boat’ symbol in the election while Islamic Front Bangladesh candidate Syed Muhammad Farid Uddin with ‘Chair’, Bangladesh Islami Front candidate Sehab Uddin Muhammad Abdus Samad with’ Candle’, National Peoples’ Party candidate Kamal Pasha with ‘Mango’ and independent candidate Mir Md Ramzan Ali with ‘Ektara’ symbol.

According to the sources in the Election Commission, out of total 190 polling stations, 76 centers were identified as important ones. Sufficient numbers of law enforcers were deployed at the centres.

BDST: 1110 HRS, APR 27, 2023

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.