Wednesday, 26 Jan, 2022


New Covid variant: Bangladesh bans travel from South Africa

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2021-11-27 14:13:31
New Covid variant: Bangladesh bans travel from South Africa

Bangladesh has announced a travel ban on South Africa following detection of new Covid-19 variant named Omicron

Health Minister Zahid Maleque asked the Directorate General of Health Services (DGHS) to impose the ban apart from taking other necessary measures.

“The new variant is very aggressive. We are suspending air link with South Africa. Screening will be strengthened at all land and air ports,” the minister said.

Meanwhile, the World Health Organization (WHO) has declared the new coronavirus variant to be "of concern" and named it Omicron.

It had a large number of mutations, and early evidence suggested an increased reinfection risk, the WHO said.

It was first reported to the WHO from South Africa on 24 November, and has also been identified in Botswana, Belgium, Hong Kong and Israel.

A number of countries around the world have now decided to ban or restrict travel to and from southern Africa.

Travellers from South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini will not be able to enter the UK unless they are UK or Irish nationals, or UK residents.

US officials said flights from South Africa, Botswana, Zimbabwe, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Mozambique and Malawi would be blocked, mirroring earlier moves taken by the EU. It will come into effect on Monday.

Brazil and Australia also introduced travel restrictions.

BDST: 1414 HRS, NOV 27, 2021

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.