Saturday, 24 Feb, 2024


Govt puts hold on Padma, Meghna divisions' proposal

Special Correspondent |
Update: 2022-11-27 14:34:43
Govt puts hold on Padma, Meghna divisions' proposal

The government today (Nov 27) put a hold on the proposal to form two new divisions after the name of the rivers Padma and Meghna for the current fiscal year.

The decision came following a meeting of the National Implementation Committee for Administrative Reforms (NICAR). 

Law Minister Anisul Huq confirmed the matter. 

Anisul Huq said that the government has taken a financial austerity policy. If two more divisions were formed, it would have to spend a lot. So, the decision has been taken to put the proposal on hold for now.

Earlier last year, the premier expressed her desire to form two new divisions- one would be named after Padma and another after Meghna.

Currently, there are eight administrative divisions in the country. 

These are Dhaka, Chattogram, Barisal, Sylhet, Rajshahi, Khulna, Rangpur and Mymensingh.

BDST: 1434 HRS, NOV 27, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.