Wednesday, January 29, 2020, 01:11:45 PM

ICC Selected Best XI of CWC 2019

Saleque Sufi |
Update: 2019-07-16 9:49:39 AM
ICC Selected Best XI of CWC 2019

ICC nominated 5 Members panel has selected a best XI comprising of players which in its considerations were better performers in the respective positions. The committee was comprised of Geof Alerdice of ICC (Chairman) and Ian Bishop, Ian Smith, Isha Guha, Lawrence Booth (members). The selected eleven has four players from CWC 2019 champion England, two each from New Zealand, Australia and India and one from Bangladesh.

The XI:

Rohit Sharma (India), Jeson Roy (England), Kane Williamson (New Zealand: Captain), Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh), Joe Root ( England), Ben Stokes ( England), Alex Carey ( Australia, Wicket Keeper), Mitchell Starc ( Australia), Jofra Archer ( England), Lockie Fergusson ( New Zealand ) and Jasprit Bumrah ( India). 
Trent Boult (New Zealand) has been selected as twelfth player.

No two selectors can ever agree with all XI players but there can be consensus about most of the players for their outstanding performances through out the tournament. Selection of Rohit Sharma and Jeson Roy as openers required some thoughts as it was not easy keeping Australian pair Dave Warner and Aaron Flinch both or at least one from the ultimate selection. Rohit scoring as many as five centuries in World Cup (New Record) was head and shoulder above the rest. His failure in the semi final off course hurt India badly against New Zealand. Roy of England was prolific and consistent.  But Warner’s selection in place of Roy could also give left hand right hand combination at the top. 

Shakib Al Hasan batting at three scored over six hundred runs and also took 11 wickets. We are sure Shakib was automatic choice as all rounder, lone spinner and selected on consensus of the committee. He was selected for bat at number four to accommodate Kane Williamson of New Zealand. Kane was selected for his very consistent batting and excellent leadership. 

Prolific Virat Kohli batted at number three. Though he was not at his prolific best, yet not considering arguably the best batsman of present day cricketer all together for selection required strong heart. He has been selected as the captain of the team also. I have some issues in the selection of Joe Root of England at number 5 especially when Kohli, Taylor were not considered. Dynamic Ben Stokes at six has been a perfect choice. He along with Shakib are two all rounders in the team. Alex Carey of Australia has been selected as wicket keeper batsman and was considered ahead of Buttler (England) and MS Dhoni (India). It was definitely a tough ask. The selection of four genuine pace bowlers Starc, Archer, Ferguson and Bumrah would reduce the depth of the batting of the team. Moreover, if the matches are played on a spinning track the team would perspire for lack of a genuine quality spinner. May be the team would then fall back upon Williamson and Root for spinners role. I would have gone all out for selecting a wrist spinner among Imran Tahir or Chahal. Moreover Trent Boult for his excellent bowling staked a selection in the XI.

Selection of such XI always creates lot of discussions. Did Babar Azam of Pakistan, Nicholas Puran of West Indies deserved to be considered? Were Shaheen Shah Afridi of Pakistan and Mustafizur Rahman of Bangladesh not good enough for selection in the XI? In selecting the team perhaps selection panel considered the matches to be played in England on a fast bouncy wicket seaming and swinging. But then also there should have been a wrist spinner included.

There have been some talks about selecting Kane Williamson as the player of the tournament ahead of Shakib Al Hasan of Bangladesh who as all rounder set new mile stones in World Cup and in the history of ODI cricket. Williamson’s performance as a batsman and captain played major role in taking in his within hand shaking distance of the trophy. In any case this was possibly a photo finish.

Such teams usually is an academic exercise .But if ICC can organize and some sponsors go for it there can be a series organized between the selected best and Saleque Sufi selected second best .

I would propose for another team to play with the above selected XI

Dave Warner, Aaron Finch (Captain), Babar Azam, Virat Kohli, Jos Buttler ( Wicket Keeper), Nicholas Puran, Mushfiqur Rahim, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammad Shami, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Mustafizur Rahman and Trent Boult

Let these two teams appear on a three match ODI series in Australia. The three matches can be played at Perth, Brisbane and Melbourne.

BDST: 0941 HRS, JULY 16, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.