Saturday, December 07, 2019, 07:10:50 PM
5th phase UZ polls

Voting in 20 upazila parishads begins

Senior Correspondent |
Update: 2019-06-18 9:54:48 AM
Voting in 20 upazila parishads begins

DHAKA: The fifth and final phase of Upazila Parishad (UZ) voting began at 9am Tuesday (June 18) and will continue till 5pm. 

According to the information of Election Commission (EC), voting to the 20 Upazila Parishads started today, where 24 lakh people will exercise their franchise to elect their representatives. 

Different political parties are participating in the polls and the number of chairman aspirants is 59 and vice chairmen aspirants are 100 and female vice chairmen candidates are 68. 

The 20 upazilas are Nakla in Sherpur district, Naldanga in Natore, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Taltali in Barguna, Gazipur Sadar, Narayanganj Sadar, Madaripur Sadar, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Shayestaganj in Habiganj, Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria, and Noakhali Sadar, Poba of Rajshahi, Purbadhala of Netrokona, Jamalganj of Sunamganj, Katiyadi of Kishoreganj, Mathbaria of Pirojpur, Feni's Chhagalniya, and Dumuria upazila of Khulna.

General Holiday has been declared in the respective upazilas.

The Election Commission has taken all necessary preparations for the 5th phase election the sources added.

Farhad Ahmad Khan, Joint Secretary of Election commission, said that in the last phase, electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in four upazilas. 

Those are: Gazipur Sadar, Bandar of Narayanganj, Bijoynagar of Brahmanbaria, and Noakhali Sadar Upazila.

Earlier, elections to 463 upazila parishads were held out of the country’s 491 upazilas in the first four phases.

BDST: 0945 HRS, JUNE 18, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.