Saturday, July 04, 2020, 06:25:44 AM

Azad-Jasim panel triumphs in FBCCI polls

Update: 2010-06-19 11:51:36 PM
Azad-Jasim panel triumphs in FBCCI polls

DHAKA: The Azad-Jasim panel triumphed in the ninth biennial election of the country’s apex business body, FBCCI, securing the majority of directors both in Chamber and Association groups.

The panel bagged 21 posts of director out of 28 under the Chamber and Association groups.

Its rival panel led by Sultan Ahmed and Abu Alam Chowdhury got one post from the chamber group and six posts from the Association group.

The 13 winners in the Chamber group from the Azad-Jasim panel are Md. Momtaz Uddin, Mostafa Azad Chowdhury Babu, Ahmed Jamal, Alhaj Md. Shamsul Haque, Nurul Huda Mukut, M Abdus Shahid, Md. Serajul Haque, Md. Jalaluddin Ahmed, Monowara Hakim Ali, Md. Jahangir Akhand Salim, Nazibar Rahman, Golam Mostafa Talukder and Nagibul Islam Dipu.

In the Association group, the victors from this panel are Mir Nizam Uddin Ahmad, Jashim Uddin, Khandaker Ruhul Amin, Abdur Razzaque, Harun-ur-Rashid, Helal Uddin, K MAkhtaruzzaman and M A Monen.

Their elected rivals in the Association group from the Ganatantrik Parishad are Aminul Haque from Chamber group and Abu Alam Chowdhury, Abdul Haque, Obaidur Rahman, Md. Jamal Uddin, Anwar Hossain and Rabbani Jabbar.

A total of 1540 voters franchised out of 1698 in the election.

After winning the election AK Azad told, “The voters elected the qualified candidates. We want to work together to complete the responsibilities given by the electorate.”

Abu Alam Chowdhury said, “We congratulate the electorates for supporting us. We will work to keep democratic atmosphere in the federation.”  

BDST: 1955Hrs. June 20, 2010

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.