BNP’s GM Siraj wins Bogura-6 by-polls

Staff Correspondent |
Update: 2019-06-25
BNP’s GM Siraj wins Bogura-6 by-polls

BOGURA: BNP candidate Golam Mohammad Siraj has been unofficially declared elected in the Bogura-6 (sadar) constituency by-elections. 

Upazila election officer SM Jakir Hossain confirmed the matter to Banglanews on Monday (June 24) night. 

Contending with the 'paddy sheaf' symbol, Siraj bagged 89,742 votes in the election while his nearest rival Awami League-candidate T Zaman Niketa got 32,297 votes in the polls.

Senior election officer Mahabub Alam Shah declared the unofficial results.

Other candidates were Jatiya Party nominated Nurul Islam Omar, Mansur Rahman of Bangladesh Congress, Rafiqul Islam of Bangladesh Muslim League, Independent candidate Former General Secretary of Bogra District Motor Workers Union Syed Kabir Ahmed Mithu and businessman Minhaz.

The voting started at 141 centres around 9:00am and continued till 5pm without any break. 

Some 320,297 voters in the constituency cast their ballot using Electronic Voting machines (EVMs) for the first time where turnout was only 34.55 per cent.  

The parliamentary seat was declared vacant on April 30 as BNP Secretary General Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir did not take oath as Member of Parliament after being elected from the constituency in the December-30 general election.

During the December 30 polls in the constituency, Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir secured 2,07,025 votes while his nearest rival Nurul Islam of AL-backed Grand Alliance got 40,362 votes.

BDST: 1011 HRS, JUNE 25, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.