Tuesday, 29 Nov, 2022


FIFA tier-1: Bangladesh beat Cambodia by 1-0 

Sports Desk | banglanews24.com
Update: 2022-09-22 21:37:40
FIFA tier-1: Bangladesh beat Cambodia by 1-0 

The Bangladesh men's football team brought some good news as they beat host Cambodia by a solitary goal in the first FIFA tier-1 Friendly match held today (Thursday) at Morodok Techo National Stadium in Phnom Penh, Cambodia.

This much-expected victory will definitely give Jamal Bhuyan and co. a sign of relief with the day's success because they not only maintain their all-win run against Cambodia but also broke the jinx of losing streak, following their last seven international games defeats, losing their most recent three - all of which came in the AFC Asian Cup qualifying group stage held in June.

Bangladesh began to dominate the play and their best moment came in the 23rd minute. Motin Mia provided a pass to midfielder Rakib Hossain following a combined attack and Rakib sent the ball to the net with a perfect angular shot giving no chance to Cambodian custodian who failed to clear the ball diving to his right.

The hosts could not utilize their home ground advantage as after the resumption they tried their best to fight back in the match, but could not convert any in the remaining proceeding.

Bangladesh, however, created a number of scoring opportunists, but they also failed to increase the goal margin without proper finishing.

Earlier, Bangladesh's won thrice in the last four previous encounters against Cambodia. Bangladesh's last match with Cambodia held in March 2019, ended in a 1-0 victory the Bengal Tigers beat Cambodia 2-1 in AFC Challenge Cup in April 2006, beat the host 1-0 win in an Int'l Friendly match in April 2009 and played 1-1 in Nehru Cup in August 2007.

Bangladesh will play its second FIFA Tier-1 International Friendly match against Nepal scheduled to be held on September 27 in Nepal.

Bangladesh team - Ashraful Islam Rana, Anisur Rahman, Mahfuz Hasan Pritom, Yeasin Arafat, Bishwanath Ghosh, Rimon Hossain, Tariq Raihan Kazi, Tutul Hosain Badsha, Riyadul Hasan, Isa Faysal, Rahmat Mia, Masuk Miah Zoni, Biplo Ahamed, Jamal Bhuyan, Rakib Hossain, Mohammad Atiqur Rahman Fahad, Sohel Rana, Hemonta Vinsent Biswas, Suman Reza, Mohammad Ibrahim, Matin Miah, Foysal Ahmed Fahim, and Sazzad Hossen.

BDST: 2137 HRS, SEP 22, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.