Thursday, 29 Sep, 2022


Bangladesh to bowl first in series deciding T20 game

Sports Desk |
Update: 2022-08-02 17:21:56
Bangladesh to bowl first in series deciding T20 game

Bangladesh were asked to bowl first for the third consecutive time in the series as Zimbabwe captain Crag Ervine won the toss and elected to bat first in the third and final T20 game on Tuesday (August 2) at Harare Sports Club.

Zimbabwe won the first game by 17 runs but Bangladesh hit back with a seven-wicket victory in the second game, making the third game decider one.

If Zimbabwe win this match, it will be their first ever bilateral T20 series victory (series involving more than one match) over Bangladesh.

 But the Tigers are determined not to let Zimbabwe create a history even though they are playing this match without their captain Nurul Hasan Sohan who was ruled out of the reminder of Zimbabwe series with a fractured finger.

While Mosaddek Hossain Saikat whose five-wicket haul helped Bangladesh win the second game was announced as captain to lead the side in this match only, Mahmudullah Riyad, the original T20 captain of Bangladesh replaced Sohan in the team.

And Mahmudullah was one of the three changes that Bangladesh brought up for this match. Parvez Hossain Emon, an opener made his debut, replacing out of form Munim Shahriar while Nasum Ahmed came in the place of left-arm pacer Shoriful Islam.

Zimbabwe also have made three changes in a bid to win the series with John Masara, Victor Nyauchi, Brad Evans coming into the best XI in place of Wellington Masakadza, Richard Ngarava and Tanaka Chivanga.

Bangladesh however still have the upper-hand over Zimbabwe in T20 format, winning 12 and losing six in the 18 matches between the two sides.
Line Ups:

Bangladesh: Liton Das (wk), Parvez Hossain Emon, Anamul Haque, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Afif Hossain, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mosaddek Hossain (capt), Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, Mahedi Hasan.

Zimbabwe: Regis Chakabva(wk), Craig Ervine(capt), Wesley Madhevere, Sean Williams, Sikandar Raza, Ryan Burl, Milton Shumba, Luke Jongwe, John Masara, Victor Nyauchi, Brad Evans.

BDST: 1722 HRS, Aug 02, 2022

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.