Saturday, 03 Jun, 2023


3rd T20I: England win toss, send Bangladesh to bat first

Sports Desk |
Update: 2023-03-14 15:10:50
3rd T20I: England win toss, send Bangladesh to bat first

England won the toss and opted to field first in the third and final match of the T20I series against Bangladesh at Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur of Dhaka on Tuesday.

Two changes for Bangladesh, including a debut for the left-arm spinner, Tanvir Islam. Shamim also returns for Afif.

Bangladesh have already won two matches of the T20I series to clinch their maiden series win over England and are eying a historic whitewash by clinching the third win in a row.

While the victory in the first match was dominating one, Bangladesh struggled badly to win the second game on the back of showing their character and it is something team management is looking for in a bid to build up a team for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024 in West Indies and the United States.

Bangladesh achieved a clean sweep in an T20I series of three or more matches just once in their history against Ireland in 2012.

They previously won three or more matches in a T20I rubber on two other occasions in beating Australia 4-1 and New Zealand 3-2 in 2021-22. Across formats, England have lost their last three matches against Bangladesh -- their worst run on records.

Bangladesh: 1 Rony Talukdar, 2 Litton Das (wk), 3 Najmul Hossain Shanto, 4 Shakib Al Hasan (capt), 5 Towhid Hridoy, 6 Shamim Hossain, 7 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 8 Tanvir Islam, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Hasan Mahmud, 11 Mustafizur Rahman

England: 1 Phil Salt, 2 Jos Buttler (capt & wk), 3 Dawid Malan, 4 Ben Duckett, 5 Moeen Ali, 6 Sam Curran, 7 Chris Woakes, 8 Chris Jordan, 9 Rehan Ahmed, 10 Adil Rashid, 11 Jofra Archer.

BDST: 1510 HRS, MAR 14, 2023

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.