Tuesday, 09 Aug, 2022


Narayanganj mayor polls: AL nominates Ivy again 

District Correspondent  | banglanews24.com
Update: 2021-12-04 12:31:44
Narayanganj mayor polls: AL nominates Ivy again 

Bangladesh Awami League nominated Dr Selina Hayat Ivy again as its mayoral candidate to contest the Narayanganj City Corporation (NCC) election slated for January 16. 

Besides, the ruling party picked Khan Ahmed Shuvo as its MP candidate for Tangail-7 parliamentary by-polls scheduled to be held on the same date (Jan 16).

The decision was taken at a meeting of the parliamentary nomination board and local government representatives' nomination board of the ruling party at the prime minister's official residence, Ganabhaban, in Dhaka last night.

According to the party’s Office Secretary Biplab Barua, party President Sheikh Hasina made the decisions during the meeting.

Since the formation of the NCC, incumbent Mayor Selina Hayat Ivy won the first two elections in 2011 and 2016.

Meanwhile, the Tangail 7 seat had fallen vacant following the death of ruling party MP Akabbar Hossain on November 16.

According to the schedules, the deadline for the submission of nomination papers is December 15, while the date for the scrutiny of nomination papers is December 20 and the last date for the withdrawal of candidature is December 27 in the NCC and Tangail-7 constituency.

The 3rd election to Narayanganj City will be held using electronic voting machines (EVM) instead of traditional ballot papers.

BDST: 1231 HRS, 2021

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.