Monday, 25 Oct, 2021


3rd phase municipality elections underway

Senior Correspondent   |
Update: 2021-01-30 11:54:06
3rd phase municipality elections underway

Voting in 63 municipalities under third phase municipality elections is underway amid much enthusiasm and fear on Saturday.

The voting started around 8:00am and will continue till 4:00pm without any break.

The Election Commission has taken necessary preparation for holding the elections.

Adequate security measures have been taken to avert any untoward incidents. Members of BGB, RAB, police and Ansar have been deployed in each of the municipality areas to control the law-and-order situation during voting.

Instructions have been given to prevent any kind of irregularities strictly in voting also. 

Earlier, the EC declared schedules for holding polls to 64 municipalities in the third phase but the election to Trishal under Mymensingh district was postponed later due to death of a mayoral candidate.

A total of 37 representatives have been elected uncontested including 3 mayors, 9 councilors in reserve seats and 25 councilors.

Voting are being held through the traditional ballot papers in all the municipalities.

The municipalities are Gobindaganj in Gaibandha, Dhamairhat and Sadar upazila in Naogaon, Gopalganj in Sylhet, Dhunat, Gabtali, Nandigram and Kahalu in Bogura, Mundumala in Rajshahi, Moulvibazar Sadar, Kotchandpur in Jhenaidah, Morelganj in Bagherhat, Barura and Laksham in Cumilla, Hajiganj in Chandpur, Feni Sadar, Munshiganj Sadar, Nakla in Sherpur, Singra in Natore, Kesharhat in Rajshahi, Dasharna in Chuadanga, Nalchiti in Jhalokati, Durgapur in Netrokona, Monirampur in Jashore, Hatia and Chaumuhani in Noakhali, Ramganj in Laxmipur, Katiadi in Kishoreganj, Tungipara in Gopalganj, Naria, Jajira and Vedarganj in Shariatpur, Barguna Sadar and Patharghata in Barguna, Borhanuddin and Daulatkhan in Bhola, Nalitabari in Sherpur, Ulipur in Kurigram, Hakimpur in Dinajpur, Rahanpur in Chapainawabganj, Narail Sadar, Kalaroa in Satkhira, Pangsha in Rajbari, Swarupkathi in Pirojpur, Gournadi and Mehendiganj in Barishal, Sarishabari in Jamalpur, Gauripur, Ishwarganj, Bhaluka in Mymensingh, Kajiganj in Sylhet, Harinakundu in Jhenaidah, Tangail Sadar, Bhuyapur, Sakhipur, Madhupur and Mirzapur in Tangail, Jaldhaka in Nilphamari, Pabna Sadar, Paikgachha in Khulna, Kalia in Narail, Chauddagram in Cumilla.

BDST: 1154 HRS, JAN 30, 2021

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.