Monday, 25 Oct, 2021


PM opens five power plants

Senior Correspondent   |
Update: 2021-09-12 12:12:49
PM opens five power plants [photo collected]

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Sunday (Sep 12) opened five power plants with the capacity of total 779-MW electricity generation.

The power plants are 400-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant Bibiyana-3 in Habiganj, up-gradation of 150-MW Power Plant to 225-MW Combined Cycle Power Plant in Sylhet, 100-MW Power Plant Unit-2 at Zulda in Chattogram, 104-MW Power Plant at Meghnaghat in Narayanganj and 100-MW Power Plant at Madhumoti in Bagerhat.

The PM joined the opening ceremony virtually from her official residence Ganabhaban here as the chief guest.

Sources of the ministry of power said the government has successfully installed 119 power plants with a capacity of 20,293-MW electricity production after assuming the office in 2009.

State Minister for Power, Energy and Mineral Resources Nasrul Hamid said the electricity generation capacity reached 25,235-MW so far (including captive power) which was 4,942-MW in 2009.

Nasrul said the per-capita electricity generation reached 560 kWh, which was only 220 kWh in 2009. And the system loss was brought down to 8.49 percent from 14.33 percent."

BDST: 1210 HRS, SEP 12, 2021

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.