Saturday, 05 Dec, 2020


Voting in Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6 by-elections underway

Banglanews Team |
Update: 2020-10-17 11:54:54
Voting in Dhaka 5, Naogaon 6 by-elections underway

Voting in the by-polls to two parliamentary constituencies - Dhaka-5 and Naogaon-6 is underway.

The polling began at 9:00 am Saturday and will continue till 5:00 pm through using Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) maintaining all Covid -19 health guidelines. 

The Election Commission (EC) took all-out preparation to hold the by-polls.

In Dhaka-5 constituency, Awami League candidate Kazi Monirul Islam, BNP candidate Salahuddin Ahmed, Jatiya Party's Mir Abdus Sabur, National People's Party's Arifur Rahman, Bangladesh Congress candidate Ansar Rahman Sikder and Gono Front candidate HM Ibrahim Bhuiyan are contesting.

The constituency includes ward No 48, 49, 50, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 65, 66, 67, 68, 69 and 70 of the Demra and Matijhil area of Dhaka South City Corporation. The by-poll will be held in 187 centres for 471,129 voters. The seat felt vacant after the death of lawmaker Habibur Rahman Molla.

In Naogaon-6 constituency, a total of 3,06,725 voters are expected to vote under 104 polling stations comprised of Raninagar and Atrai upazila.

The candidates for Naogaon- 6 by-poll are Sheikh Md Rezaul Islam of the Awami League, Md Anwar Hossain Helal of BNP and Khandaker Intekhab Alam of NPP.

The seat became vacant following the death of lawmaker Israfil Alam. 

BDST: 1154 HRS, OCT 17, 2020

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.