Wednesday, 23 Sep, 2020


JS passes Voter List (Amend) Bill

24 |
Update: 2020-01-26 20:06:15
JS passes Voter List (Amend) Bill

SANGSAD BHABAN: – The Voter List (Amendment) Bill, 2020 was passed in the Jatiya Sangsad (JS) extending the timeframe for updating the voter list from existing 30 days to 60 days.

It was passed in an amended form by the parliamentary standing committee Law on Sunday (January 26).

Justice and Parliamentary Affairs Minister Anisul Huq moved the bill in the House which was unanimously passed by voice votes with Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury in the chair.

Earlier, three opposition lawmakers — Rowshan Ara Mannan of Jatiya Party and Rumeen Farhana and Md Harunur Rashid of Bangladesh Nationalist Party—opposed the passing of the bill and asked for sending it to seek public opinion on the bill while it was rejected by voice votes.

The law minister earlier said the amendment was brought to the existing Electoral Rolls Act 2009 aiming to extend the timeframe till March 1 as it is difficult to update the voters’ list within only 29 days from January 2 to January 31 every year.

BDST: 1706 HRS, JAN 26, 2020


All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.