Friday, 18 Jun, 2021


PM opens 7 power plants, 23 more upazilas get full electricity 

14 |
Update: 2019-11-13 12:01:34
PM opens 7 power plants, 23 more upazilas get full electricity 

DHAKA: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina on Wednesday (Nov 13) inaugurated seven power plants to add 790MW of electricity to the national grid.

The initiative will hopefully bring 23 more upazilas across the country under cent percent electricity coverage.

She opened the power plants through a videoconferencing from her official Ganabhaban residence here this morning.

The seven power plants are: Anwara 300 MW Power Plant, Rangpur 113 MW Power Plant, Karnaphuli 110 MW Power Plant, Shikalbaha 105 MW Power Plant, Patia 54 MW Power Plant, Tentulia 8 MW Solar Power Plant and Gazipur 100 MW Power Plant.

With this venture, country’s power generation capacity stands at 22,562 MW as about 95 percent people of the country have been brought under electricity coverage.

At the same time, Sheikh Hasina also launched cent percent power coverage in 23 upazilas under ten districts of the country.

The 23 upazilas which have come under cent percent power coverage are: Gabtali, Sherpur and Shibganj in Bogura district, Lohagara in Chattogram, Madhukhali, Nagarkanda and Saltha in Faridpur district, Fulchhari, Gaibandha Sadar and Palashbari in Gaibandha district, and Madhappur and Nabiganj in Habiganj district.

Besides, Kaliganj and Maheshpur in Jhenaidah district, Karimganj under Kishoreganj, Baraigram, Lalpur and Singra under Natore district, Barhatta and Mahonganj in Netrakona district, Bhandaria, Kaukhali and Indurkani under Pirojpur district have come under cent percent electricity coverage from Wednesday (Nov 13).

BDST: 1200 HRS, NOV 13, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.