Sunday, February 23, 2020, 06:13:45 PM

3 to die for killing Gaibandha student

District Correspondent |
Update: 2020-01-16 3:06:23 PM
3 to die for killing Gaibandha student

GAIBANDHA: A district court gave death penalty to three persons for killing a student in Gobindaganj of Gaibandha.

District and Sessions Judge Dilip Kumar Bhoumik handed down the verdict on Thursday (January 16).

The court also sentenced eight persons to five years in prison and were fined Taka one lakh each.

All the convicts were present at court when judgment was pronounced at around 11:30 am.

The death-raw convicts were-- Shahriar Sarkar Hridoy, Rakibul Hasan Sajib and Mahmudul Hasan Pradhan.

However, the other convicts were-- Masud Pradhan Sujan, Al-Amin Islam, Al-Amin, Rabeya Begum, Shimul Mia, Runa Begum, Jahangir Alam and former councilor Joynal Abedin.

All convicts were residents of Gobindaganj municipality.

Public Prosecutor (PP) Advocate Shafiqul Islam Shafiq told Banglanews: “After a lengthy hearing, allegations have been proved without any shred of doubt.”

Ashikur Rahman Samya, son of Gobindaganj municipality Mayor and local Awami League leader Ataur Rahman Sarker, was murdered in 2015.

BDST: 1506 HRS, JAN 16, 2020


All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.