Voting underway in two municipalities, 8 upazilas, 14 unions

Senior Correspondent |
Update: 2019-10-14
Voting underway in two municipalities, 8 upazilas, 14 unions

DHAKA: Polling has began in fourteen unions, eight upazilas and two municipal councils in 16 districts of Bangladesh on Monday (Oct 14).

Voting started in these places at 9am and will continue until 5pm using EVM machines partially. 

Md Atiar Rahman, Election Commission Secretariat's deputy secretary (election management), told Banglanews that of eight upazila councils, votes are being cast using EVMs in four upazilas.  Voting is also underway using EVMs at three UPs, two municipalities and a ward. 


Voting is being held using EVMs in Chapinawabganj Sadar, Mehendiganj of Barisal, Maheshpur of Jhenaidah and Kabirhat Upazila of Noakhali. And ballot papers are being used in voting at Sherpur Sadar, Netrakona Atpara, Jhenaidah's Kotchandpur and Satkania Upazila of Chattogram.


Voting is being cast using EVMs in Nabinagar Municipality of Brahmanbaria and Lalmohan Municipality of Bhola.

All necessary measures have been taken the polling areas to ensure a free and fair balloting, the officials said.

Tight security measures have been put in place to avert any untoward incident.

No untoward incident has been reported from any poll location so far.

BDST: 1045 HRS, OCT 14, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.