23 Barapukuria officials face graft charges

District Correspondent | banglanews24.com
Update: 2019-07-22
23 Barapukuria officials face graft charges
File photo

DINAJPUR: Allegations have been brought against 23 officials including 7 former managing directors (MDs) of Barapukuria Coal Mining Company Ltd (BCMCL) over embezzling coals worth Tk 243.28 crore.

Investigation officer of the case submitted the charge-sheet to Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) Sunday (July 21).

ACC is scheduled to file the charge-sheet with court this week.

Deputy Director of Dinajpur District Combined Office of ACC Abu Hena Ashikur Rahman confirmed the matter to Banglanews.  

The seven former MDs are-- Md Mahbubur Rahman, Md Abdul Aziz Khan, Khurshidul Hasan, Kamruzzaman, Md Aminuzzaman, SM Nurul Aorongozeb and Habib Uddin Ahammad.

The investigation report said the coals were embezzled from January 2006 to July 2018, by coordinated efforts of the accused.

BCMCL General Manager (Administration) Mohammad Anisur Rahman, as a plaintiff, accused 19 persons in a case filed with Parbatipur Police Station on July 24, 2018 over lose of some 1,44,644 metric tonnes of coals from the state-owned coalmine in Dinajpur.

ACC Public Relations Officer (PRO) Pranab Kumar Bhattacharya said more nine persons are added as accused and five among nineteen others made accused earlier have been discharged.

BDST: 1554 HRS, JUL 22, 2019

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.