5th phase Upazila polls

Campaigns end, voting Tuesday

Senior Correspondent | banglanews24.com
Update: 2019-06-17
Campaigns end, voting Tuesday

DHAKA: Candidates for the posts of upazila chairman, vice chairman and female vice chairman were seen carrying out last moment campaigning as the deadline for campaigning ended at midnight on Sunday (June 16).

The fifth and final phase of the upazila parishad elections will be held to 22 upazilas on Tuesday (June 18).
The ruling party candidates have been dominating the scene since the election campaign officially began. 

According to the schedule, the polls will be held for three posts -- chairman, vice-chairman and female vice-chairman -- in each the upazilas.

The 16 upazilas are Nakla in Sherpur district, Naldanga in Natore, Kamarkhand in Sirajganj, Sundarganj in Gaibandha, Rangabali in Patuakhali, Taltali in Barguna, Gazipur Sadar, Narayanganj Sadar, Madaripur Sadar, Kalukhali in Rajbari, Shayestaganj in Habiganj, Bancharampur and Bijoynagar in Brahmanbaria, Cumilla Adarsha Sadar, Cumilla Sadar Dakkhin and Noakhali Sadar.

Voting will also be held at six upazilas where voting had been suspended earlier.

Those are Purbadhala of Netrokona, Jamalganj of Sunamganj, Katiyadi of Kishoreganj, Mathbaria of Pirojpur and Feni's Chhagalniya.

Voting will begin around 8 am and continue till 4 pm without any break.

General Holiday has been declared in the respective upazilas.

The Election Commission has taken all necessary preparations for the 5th phase election the sources added.

Farhad Ahmad Khan, Joint Secretary of Election commission, said that in the last phase, electronic voting machines (EVMs) will be used in six upazilas. 

Those are: Gazipur Sadar, Bandar of Narayanganj, Bijoynagar of Brahmanbaria, Adarsha Sadar and Sadar South of Comilla and Noakhali Sadar Upazila.

All sorts of rallies, processions and showdowns will remain prohibited in the election areas after Sunday midnight, he added.

Earlier, elections to 463 upazila parishads were held out of the country’s 491 upazilas in the first four phases.

BDST: 1440 HRS, JUNE 17, 2019


All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from banglanews24.com are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.