Wednesday, June 20, 2018, 02:23:12 AM

South Asian Univ to include more SAARC people

Education Desk |
Update: 2016-11-28
South Asian Univ to include more SAARC people

DHAKA: Number of teachers and students from the member countries of South Asian Association for Regional Co-operation (SAARC) will be included in South Asian University (SAU).

The decision came from 9th Governing Board Meeting of SAU under the auspices of University Grants Commission of Bangladesh in city on Monday (November 28).

The meeting also recommended raising the number of scholarships and fellowships for the teachers and students of SAARC member countries in SAU, said a press release.

SAU Governing Board chairperson and also Nepal UGC chairman Professor Dr. Parashar Prasad Koirala presided over the meeting where Bangladesh UGC chairman Professor Abdul Mannan attended the meeting as a Member of Governing Board, SAU.

Sixteen representatives from the member countries of SAARC including SAU president Dr. Kavita A. Sharma, Deputy Minister of Ministry of Higher Education of Afghanistan Professor Dr. Baray Seddiqi, India UGC chairman Professor Ved Prakash, Ministry of Education of Maldives Dr. Abdulla Nazeer and Maldives National University chancellor Dr. Mohammed Latheef attended the meeting.

South Asian University is an international university established by the governments of eight SAARC member countries Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka.

SAU started its activities from the year 2010. The university currently functions from New Delhi, India.

BDST: 1825 HRS, NOV 28, 2016

All rights reserved. Sale, redistribution or reproduction of information/photos/illustrations/video/audio contents on this website in any form without prior permission from are strictly prohibited and liable to legal action.