Law & Human Rights
All are equal before law and are entitled without any discrimination to equal protection of the law - Article 7 of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights
Home Law Opinion Human Rights Special Report Justice on Trial Book Review Law Week Notice Board

The Mujibnagar Government

Human Rights Desk

The Provisional Government of the People`s Republic of Bangladesh popularly known as the Mujibnagar Government was formed on this the 10th day of April back in 1971. This was the first ever government of Bangladesh. 

On March 26, 1971, Banglabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman declared the independence of Bangladesh. Before the Pakistani forces swooped upon the Bengalis, the Pakistani army arrested the supreme leader of the nation in the night on March 25. Before he was arrested, he sent that declaration to the then Chittagong Awami League Leader to disseminate the same. Accordingly, Bangladesh was declared independent.

Though, a declaration of independence was made, but the country required having a constitution of its own. A provisional constitution was made on the 10th day of April 1971. 

This provisional constitution is also known as the proclamation of independence. As per this provisional constitution and the proclamation of independence, a new government was formed for Bangladesh.  

This was also known as the government in exile which was based in Kolkata, India during our war of liberation. The main purpose of that government was to gain international support for the newly declared independent country. 

This government has coordinated our war of liberation from India. Besides, they urged the international community to stand beside this nation. This government was fully legitimized so far the legal and political issues are concerned. The government consisted the members who were elected by the general election held in 1970.

The duly elected representatives of the people of the country have formed the government. In this regard it fully reflected the will of the people.After the government is formed, the provisional government confirmed the declaration of independence duly declared on 26th March 1971. 

The newly formed government took oath on the 17 day of April in 1971 in the then Meherpur district. The venue of the oath a mango forest in Baidyanathtala which was also renamed Mujibnagar by the provisional government.

The members of the cabinet were:  
1. Sheikh Mujibur Rahman (President of Bangladesh)

2. Syed Nazrul Islam (Vice President and Acting President of Bangladesh)

3. Tajuddin Ahmad (Prime Minister of Bangladesh)

4. A. H. M. Qamaruzzaman (Minister of Home Affairs, Relief and Rehabilitation)

5. Mansur Ali (Minister of Finance and Planning)

6. Khondaker Mostaq Ahmad (Minister of Foreign Affairs and Law)

7. Colonel M A G Osmani (Commander-in-Chief, Mukti Bahini)

On 17th April 1971 Mr. Yusuf Ali, an MNA, formally read out the Proclamation of Independence at a simple ceremony.

10 Apr 2012   04:31:00 PM   Tuesday
Please send your opinion, query, comment on any issues related to law and human rights to
Human Rights Desk, Media House, Plot # 371/A (2nd Floor), Block # D, Bashundhara Road, Bashundhara R/A, Baridhara, Dhaka-1229, Bangladesh

Provide your opinion

Home Law Opinion Human Rights Legal Advice Special Report Justice on Trial Book Review Readers’ Forum Law Week Notice Board
Human Rights Desk, Media House, Plot # 371/A (2nd Floor), Block # D, Bashundhara Road, Bashundhara R/A, Baridhara, Dhaka-1229, Bangladesh email:      Editor-in-Chief: Alamgir Hossain
© 2014 All Right ® reserved.      A concern of East West Media Group Ltd.